UNILAG honours Pastor Adeboye, Fayemi, Ndoma-Egba

30 Jul

EKITI State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG) Pastor Enoch Adeboye, Senate Majority leader, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba (SAN) and former Lagos State Deputy Governor, Mrs Sarah Sosan and 46 other distinguished alumni of the University of Lagos, Akoka were on Friday honoured by the University with the “ Distinguished Alumni Award.”

Fiery Lagos Pastor and Vice Presidential candidate of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) in the 2011 presidential election, Pastor Tunde Bakare; Wife of the Governor of Ogun State, Mrs Olufunso Amosun, Minister of the Interior, Abba Moro; Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha; Inspector-General of Police, Mr. M.D Mohammed; Nigeria’s High Commissioner to the UK, Alhaji Dalhatu Tafida; Minister of Sport, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi and Minority leader in the House of Reps, Femi Bajabiamila were also honoured at the event which commemorated the 50th anniversary of the institution.

Others included Senator Gbenga Kaka, a Supreme Court Judge, Justice Bode Rhodes-Vivour; former Chief Judge of Lagos State, Justice Enitan Akande; National Chairman of All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu; Group Managing Director of UBA, Phillips Oduoza; Chairman of Lagos State Local Government Service Commission, Mr. Moshood Ojikutu and Sola Ladipo-Ajayi.

Speaking at the award dinner which held at the University’s multipurpose Hall, Governor Fayemi described the honour as one of the “proudest moments of” his life; saying that he had a great time in the University especially as a student activist.

Fayemi, said whereas the award was not the first he would receive, but that the UNILAG award remains the best for him.

The event which drew a large population of old students of the University, provided an opportunity for many of them to re-connect and also discuss the future of the institution as well as the alumni association.

Other awardees include:  Mr. Awa Ibraheem, Chief Poly Emeniker, Captain Ayodeji Bamgbose, Dr. Abayomi Ajayi, different professors including Olu Akewusola, Mrs Majekodunmi, Ben Oghojafor, Aloy Ejiogu, Familoni Oluwole, Makanju Abayomi, Sodiq Wali, Rowland Ndoma-Egba, Dr. Sadiq Sanusi, Engineer Wole Agbaje, Mr. Tunde Than, Barrister Owolabi Salis and Deaconness Ibana Nsikanbi.

Culled: The Nation

Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: